Common Council

Fitchburg is governed by a mayor and eight Common Council members. The city has four districts and each district has two Council Representatives. The mayor serves a three-year term and Alders serve two-year staggered terms. The mayor and council oversee city departments which are managed by a city administrator who is appointed by the mayor and approved by the Common Council. 
0Z2A7525 retouch

Council members pictured left to right (back): Dave Herbst, Joe Maldonado, Randy Udell, Bill Jetzer, Jim Wheeler; (front): Jay Allen, Julia Arata-Fratta, Gabriella Gerhardt, Shannon Strassman.

Julia Arata-Fratta, Mayor, (608) 270-4215  term expires 4/21/26

Dave Herbst, Alder District 1, (608) 516-7173  term expires 4/15/25

Joe Maldonado, Alder District 1, (414) 339-4574 term expires 4/16/24

Bill Jetzer, Alder District 2, (608) 212-9954  term expires 4/15/25

Gabriella Gerhardt, Alder District 2, (608) 285-2586  term expires 4/16/24

Jay Allen, Alder District 3, (608) 438-9261  term expires 4/18/25

Shannon Strassman, Alder District 3, (312) 671-4709  term expires 4/16/24

Jim Wheeler, Alder District 4, (608) 571-5273 term expires 4/18/25
Randy Udell, Alder District 4, (608) 332-6261  term expires 4/16/24

Aldermanic Districts & Wards Map
View the map.
To email all Council members and Mayor: